FMC Renews TMA Five Diamond Monitoring Center Designation

March 22, 2024 | By: mm-admin

The Monitoring Association (TMA) is pleased to announce that Fire Monitoring of Canada Inc. has renewed their prestigious “TMA Five Diamond Monitoring Center” designation.  This designation is granted annually to monitoring centers that satisfy all of the requirements of the “five points of excellence”. 

5 Points of Excellence

  • Commitment to ongoing job-related education and testing. In turn having 100% of its monitoring center operators certified using the TMA online training series on industry best practices.
  • Commitment to random inspections and quality criteria standards by a nationally recognized testing laboratory such as FM Approvals, Intertek/ETL and UL.
  • Commitment to raising the industry standards through TMA membership and participation in its activities.
  • Commitment to reducing false dispatches.
  • Commitment to the highest levels of customer service.

The TMA Five Diamond designation means that a monitoring company has demonstrated an exceptionally high degree of responsibility to their local community and their customers. Achieved through the investment of time, money and commitment to quality operator training. Operators serve as the life-saving link between residential or business properties and the police, fire and emergency services in local areas. The TMA Monitoring Center Operator course covers virtually all phases of monitoring center communications. Including customer, police, fire and emergency service communication centers. In order to achieve the Five Diamond designation, every operator must pass the course and re-certify every three years. Additionally, each operator must demonstrate these key understandings.

Operator Proficiencies

  • Proficiency in alarm confirmation process, which helps reduce false alarms.
  • Proficiency in communications with Public Service Answering Points.
  • Knowledge of electronic communications equipment. Including, cellular, radio and internet communication systems.
  • An understanding of the codes and standards of such organizations as Underwriters Laboratories, Factory Mutual, the National Fire Protection Association and others.
  • Proficiency in the area of emergency preparedness under a wide scenario of possibilities.

In 2022, Five Diamond expanded to include TMA Member video monitoring companies that are hosted by a UL827 registered TMA member data center. In addition to fulfilling various other program requirements. Of the central stations nationwide in Canada fewer than 20 monitoring centers have achieved the Five Diamond designation. Setting FMC apart from the masses. 

Contact Us Today 

FMC logo


To schedule a no obligation assessment of your facility’s fire monitoring needs, call us at 1 800 263 2534, email, or fill out the contact form below.